analogies to live by

i found these the other day, and thought they were worth sharing:

 

Naming a child is like fitting in at a party:     People usually screw up by trying too hard.

Shopping at Ikea is like returning to therapy:     It feels like the right thing to to do, but then you get there and realize you aren’t adequately emotionally prepared.

Facebook is like a gossipy friend with no interesting information:     (no explanation necessary)

Starbucks is like that crazy ex-boyfriend you still get together with:     You hate yourself for going back, but the familiarity makes it convenient, and until you find something better, it’s all you’ve got.

Wikipedia is like hearing a great story in a bar:     You hope it’s true, but never bother confirming it.

Body glitter is like Mono:     Don’t hug someone that has it unless you want some.

Using a semicolon is like barbecuing:     I’m never quite sure I’m doing it correctly.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “analogies to live by

  1. Bur,

    i miss it too 😦 you should call sometime when you have a chance… i hope CO is still sweet… your mountain climbing picks are rocking my world 🙂

  2. “Facebook is like a gossipy friend with no interesting information: (no explanation necessary)”

    SO TRUE! haha – explanation definitely not necessary.

    Great sayings – these made me smile.

  3. sarahgilmour

    Oh! Sarah, it’s me again (Sarah G – though I think that may be obvious when I post this since my username is sarahgilmour)

    I decided to get a wordpress. Mostly thanks to you. But I’m gonna try to do the public blogging thing for a while and hope my stalker has given up interest. 🙂

    Nothing’s really on my site yet, but I plan to add you to my blogroll! 🙂

  4. Melody

    Hey Sarah! Loved the post…. but I really wanted to ask you what your plans around Christmas are. I’m going to be in Denver from the 24-the 30th of December and didn’t know if you’d be around. If you are, I’d love to grab a drink and something to eat with you some time… But I know it’s Christmas and you may be going back to Maryland. Anyway… if you could let me know, that would be sweet.

  5. Hey! Wikipedia rocks socks!

    The Mono and glitter one was pretty darn funny!

    jeremy

Leave a Reply

